Caffeine math
138 mg of Caffeine: How Much Is That in Cups?
138 mg of caffeine is about 35% of FDA's 400 mg a day reference for healthy adults (138 / 400). It is the Caffeine Anhydrous row on the SodaSlim label, so each capsule has at least that much. The Green Coffee Bean Extract row may add more, and the label does not say how much.
Written by the SodaSlim label deskUpdated · 5 min read

The comparison
How much is 138 mg of caffeine compared with coffee?
It is roughly the caffeine in one modest cup of coffee, though cups vary a great deal. FDA's own yardstick is that 400 mg is about two to three 12-ounce cups, which puts one such cup at roughly 133 to 200 mg (400 / 3 and 400 / 2) (FDA, Spilling the Beans caffeine).
Tea and cola usually hold less per serving, and the FDA and EFSA tables list typical amounts that differ by brand and brew (EFSA, caffeine safe intakes). Use the drink tapper in the next section rather than guessing; it uses typical values and says they vary.
A minimum
Why is 138 mg a minimum and not the total?
Because the label prints caffeine for one row only. The Green Coffee Bean Extract row is 130 mg of a seed extract, and its own caffeine is not stated.
The green tea row adds under 4 mg (130 x under 3%). So the capsule has at least 138 mg, probably a little more, and the label never gives a sum. We write "at least" because we cannot honestly write "exactly".
| Source | Amount | Basis |
|---|---|---|
| Caffeine Anhydrous row | 138 mg | Printed |
| Green Tea Extract row | Under 4 mg | 130 x under 3% |
| Green Coffee Bean Extract row | Not printed | Not stated |
| Capsule total | At least 138 mg | The printed row alone |
Try it
How much caffeine can you add before the limit?
Against FDA's 400 mg reference, 138 mg leaves about 262 mg for everything else (400 - 138), and less if the coffee row adds some.
Against EFSA's 200 mg single-dose figure, one capsule is about 69% (138 / 200), so a strong coffee at the same time would pass it. EFSA also says about 100 mg can affect sleep in some people. Build your own day below.
138 mg of 400 mg
Just the capsule: 138 mg from the label's caffeine row.
1 SodaSlim capsule, pre-loaded: 138 mg (label)
Typical caffeine per serving
| Drink | Serving | Caffeine |
|---|---|---|
| Espresso shot | 60 ml | 80 mg |
| Filter coffee | 200 ml | 90 mg |
| Black tea | 220 ml | 50 mg |
| Green tea | 12 oz | 37 mg |
| Cola | 355 ml can | 40 mg |
| Energy drink | 250 ml can | 80 mg |
The 138 mg is the caffeine row on the SodaSlim label (SodaSlim label); the coffee and tea rows may add some, and the label does not say how much. 200 mg a day is the ACOG pregnancy reference (ACOG, caffeine in pregnancy); 400 mg a day is the FDA general adult reference, about two to three 12-ounce cups of coffee (FDA, Spilling the Beans caffeine). Drink amounts are typical and vary by brand. This is a counting aid, not medical advice: ask a clinician about your own limit.

SodaSlim capsules: 30 to a bottleOne capsule a day · 2, 3 or 6 bottles · price and shipping shown at checkout
See the priceCare
Who should be careful with this much caffeine?
Anyone pregnant, nursing, under 18, sensitive to caffeine, or on medicine should ask first, and the label says the capsule is not for the first three.
ACOG advises under 200 mg a day in pregnancy (ACOG, caffeine in pregnancy). Ask your doctor or pharmacist if you take medicine or have a heart condition, high blood pressure, anxiety or sleep trouble; caffeine can interact with medicines. Keep taking prescribed medicine. Chest pain, fainting or a racing heart that will not settle: call 911. See the caffeine budget guide and the caffeine page.
If you are ready to look, price and terms are as printed at checkout.

90-day supply
3 bottles: 90 days
90 capsulesone a day · price shown at checkout
Shipping at checkout · Guarantee as printed there
See 3 bottles
180-day supply
6 bottles: 180 days
180 capsulesone a day · price shown at checkout
Shipping at checkout · Guarantee as printed there
See 6 bottlesPrices are shown at checkout (SodaSlim sales site). Two bottles are also sold. Check your medicines with your doctor or pharmacist before you order.
FAQ
SodaSlim questions people ask
Is 138 mg of caffeine a lot?
It is about 35% of FDA's 400 mg a day reference for healthy adults, and above EFSA's 100 mg sleep note. Whether it feels like a lot depends on your habits and sensitivity.
Is the 138 mg exact?
No. It is the printed Caffeine Anhydrous row. The coffee row's caffeine is not stated, so the capsule has at least 138 mg.
Does caffeine anhydrous differ from coffee caffeine?
It is caffeine in dry powder form. The molecule is the same, but a capsule delivers a fixed dose at once, while a cup varies by bean and brew.
Who wrote this
Written and reviewed by
Pages built from the label, the seller's brief and linked NIH, FDA, CDC, FTC and peer-reviewed sources.
Last updated . Read our editorial standards and how we check reviews. This website is the information site of a USA Authorized SodaSlim Retailer. It is not the manufacturer, and the label names Gex Corporation LLP (Ogden, Utah) as the distributor. We earn money when you buy through our order links.
Keep reading
More about SodaSlim
USA Authorized SodaSlim Retailer
Ready to look at SodaSlim?
Check your medicines and your caffeine first, and ask a clinician if you are unsure. Then pick a pack: 2, 3 or 6 bottles of 30 capsules. The checkout shows the price, the shipping and the money-back guarantee as printed there.
- Secure checkout on the seller's site
- Money-back guarantee, as printed at checkout
- Shipping shown at checkout


